PAYMENT OPTIONS

- Pay online at <u>www.modocfees.com</u>.
- Pay by phone.

Call 1-855-DOC-IFEE (1-855-362-4333)

Send a payment voucher along with a money order/cashiers check to:

Missouri Department of Corrections Attn: Offender Financial Services P.O. Box 1848 Jefferson City, MO. 65102



QR Code for Intervention Fee website (scan with your Smartphone)

State Income Tax Intercept Program

The Division of Probation and Parole is required to abide by the law, to include collecting the Missouri Intervention Fee. Likewise, each offender supervised by the Missouri Department of Corrections is required by law to pay the fee, or take responsibility to provide the necessary information to obtain a waiver. Failure to pay the fee can result in a referral to the Department of Revenue to assist in collection.

Pursuant to Sections 143.781 through 143.788 RSMo, the Department of Revenue has the authority to intercept an offender's state income tax refund in an effort to satisfy the obligation to pay this fee. Offenders carrying Intervention Fee balances of \$60.00 or more are subject to seizure. The tax interception also continues after an offender is discharged from supervision, if an arrears balance remains. Furthermore, the Department of Corrections is authorized to collect the fee from available inmate account funds for offenders that are incarcerated.

Probation and Parole Central Office 3400 Knipp Drive Jefferson City, MO. 65109 Phone: 573-751-8488

Fax: 573-751-8501

Missouri Division of Probation and Parole

INTERVENTION FEES
SUPERVISION CONDITION #10

I shall pay a monthly intervention fee in an amount set by the Missouri Department of Corrections pursuant to RSMo 217.690.

www.doc.mo.gov



December 31, 2019

Intervention Fees

In May 2005 House Bill 700 was passed by the Missouri legislature, and signed into law in July 2005. The statute change authorized the Missouri Division of Probation and Parole the discretion to charge each offender on supervision a fee of up to \$60.00 per month to provide intervention services.

The Intervention Fee collections are used to provide community corrections and intervention services for offenders.

Such services include:

- substance use assessment and treatment
- mental health assessment and treatment
- electronic monitoring services
- residential facilities services
- employment placement services
- Other offender community corrections or intervention services provided by the department to assist offenders to successfully complete Probation, Parole or Conditional Release.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are any offenders exempt from paying Intervention Fees?

Yes. The following offenders are exempt from payment based on their case status:

- Missouri Parole and Conditional Release cases for 90 days after initial release
- Dual cases for 90 days following initial release of the Parole Board case.
- Deferred prosecution, Re-Entry Court, Drug Court, DWI Court, Treatment Court and Veterans Court (both deferred prosecution and post-plea case).
- Bond Cases.
- ♦ Those cases assigned to the Parole Board or Probation and Parole Interstate Compact Unit in the agency computer system.
- Cases not assigned to an office.
- Cases with no active sentence, except for Lifetime Supervision cases.

What sanctions are used for failure to pay the Intervention Fee?

The following graduated sanction options for non-compliance are available:

- ♦ Verbal or written reprimand
- Increased reporting
- ♦ Travel restriction
- ♦ Curfew
- Notice of Citation or Violation Report
- Community Service

What does the agency do when a billing error occurs?

There is an internal process if a payment was made in error. If an account has been billed in error, the account can be corrected through the action of a supervisor or the Offender Financial Services Unit.

For the income waiver, what wage is used to determine whether the offender has insufficient income?

The offender's gross earnings as well as the gross earnings of all household income is used to determine whether the offender qualifies for an insufficient income waiver.

Do other states collect an Intervention Fee?

The vast majority of states charge some type of fee, usually called a supervision fee. The first known Probation and Parole supervision fee occurred in 1929 in the State of Michigan.

Why are services that are developed through the Intervention Fee important?

Meeting the needs of high need offenders in the community, through programming based on evidence-based practices, is cost efficient as it helps to prevent supervision failure and assignment to prison. The fee allows offenders to collectively support each other while not increasing the taxes of law-abiding Missouri citizens to support intervention needs.